Cultural Arts Review

25 03 2011

Abby Murray-Nikkel

Mr. Haning

Varsity Chorus 1b

March 24, 2011

Fayetteville Symphony Orchestra

After living in Fayetteville for eight years, I finally had the chance to see the Fayetteville Symphony Orchestra this past month. I have not attended many symphony concerts in the past, but I was extremelly impressed with the quality of the performance that our local orchestra put on. When the first notes sounded, I was astonished with the impeccable sound I was hearing. It was as if I were listening to a professionally recoreded CD, and it was hard for me to truly realize that I was hearing live music.

The first half of the performance was Symphony No. 6 in F Major by Beethoven. This was my favorite part of the show; it told the story of a homecoming to the countryside. The strings imitated water, the flute imitated water, and the timpani imitated thunder. The quick lively music evoked joyful feelings, and the increasing then decreasing tempo simulated the course of emotions throughout the homecoming.

I liked this one particularly for numerous reasons. Because it told a story, I was particularly intrigued, as each movement caught my attention. Furthermore, as a person who associates both nature and orchestral music with feelings of relaxation and joy, the pairing of these two was very enjoyable.

The second half of the show consisted of concerto No. I for Piano and Orchestra in B Flat Minor, Op. 23 by Piotr Ilych Tchaikovsky. I thoroughly enjoyed this piece as well. The pianist, Shai Wosner, was incredible, and made this difficult piece look easy to play. The thing I liked most abuot this piece was the interaction between piano and orchestra which drew the audience in and kept us engaged.

It is notable that this piece was initially rejected by the greatest virtuosi of Tchaikovsky’s country. Today, it is one of the most popular competition pieces of its type. This was obvious in hearing the piece, as it requires almost every artistic and technical resource possible.

Overall, I was very impressed by the performance that the Fayetteville Symphony Orchestra put on, and I look forward to seeing them perform again.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

